[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
laurakgibbs
Community Champion
orwinr
Community Champion

Hi  @sstevenson_1960 ,

We piloted Atomic Search since January and really liked it and now have it fully implemented here at the iSchool. We really like it and are happy to pay for the functionality until something is permanently baked into Canvas itself. The folks at Atomic Jolt have been great to work with.

colleen_harmon
Community Participant

I agree: having an internal course search feature would save both me and my students time and effort when looking for specific items. As others have mentioned, only published items should be indexed.

On a related note, I know that one bonus of having a Google search appliance is that it's possible to analyze and report user interactions with the content: which pages were viewed, how many times they were viewed, average time spent on a page, etc.