[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
colleen_harmon
Community Participant

Thanks for your response, Laura.

I'm not sure why permissions would pose a problem if Canvas searched only course-wide published content and avoided, for example, the Inbox or individual discussions. That's interesting, but troubling. Maybe the way courses are architected is an issue such that separating searchable content isn't straightforward. Hmmm.

Judging by the other responses here, it looks like Canvas should partner with Google and get its search appliance integrated onto their platform. They could partition it along the lines they already partition their LMS, so each institution would get its own slice of the pie, and then each institution could further parse it by CRN. That way, faculty and students could search through all the published course-wide content.

laurakgibbs
Community Champion