[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
jlmasters
Community Participant

Please add a search feature that searches all discussion posts in a course. This is highly needed functionality. Students and teachers often remember that a topic was discussed, but can't remember where. A basic search that works for all discussions/replies/threaded replies across a course is critical.

celtspur
Community Novice

I think this is a must-have. It's actually pretty surprising that it isn't already there. I can't imagine it would be that difficult to add. This is definitely a major hole in the Canvas set-up. 

khirschmann1
Community Novice

From an administrator perspective, it would be helpful to be able to search across courses for a particular PDF that might be used in other courses.

rbagent
Community Explorer

This is a very much needed tool. I hope it gets voted in as important.

bennej28
Community Participant

Many times I need to locate a file, I know its name, but do not remember its location. So I like this idea.