[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
kyh802
Community Explorer

Adding my vote for a search feature too. This would be so very, very helpful.

greg_rusk
Community Novice

Agree with the comments about needing this feature. Now that I've been investing a ton of time and content creation in Canvas due to distance learning (pandemic), it is very difficult to find things--for students and teachers. A course-level search would be useful and something that is offered as a basic feature of all content management systems like this. The search should look at files, announcements, pages, assignments, quizzes, modules and present a consolidated list of results with links to the items.

maoprea
Community Member