[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
RobDitto
Community Champion

@erica_hill, you're right that business and professional schools, in particular, need a search tool for our document-centric education modes.

At Wharton, we're still extremely happy with Atomic Search as an LTI tool in our Canvas instance providing comprehensive search. I don't know whether they have plans for a PIPEDA-/FERPA Canada-compliant version; here's a Community link with more information.

Partner Listing: Atomic Jolt: Atomic Search

AsifSamiHaque
Community Member

A search function would be great to easily locate material for our instructors!

KathyHubbard
Community Member

The ability to have a search tool to search canvas modules would be time-saving and assist in finding pertinent information. 

bobby_nourani
Community Member

Hi

We were expecting to see the course search functionality on canvas as a default built-in functionality.

It would definitely help lectures and students to find something specific in a course quickly.