[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
Maeve_McCooey
Community Coach
Community Coach

Search function is a no brainer - I use all this all the time as student of an institution that has moodle to deliver online content. 

akryzh
Community Member

It would be great to enable a search function in Pages similar to the search available in Announcements and/or Assignments.

ClintonSanders
Community Novice

You should make a button on canvas that lets you search for somthing

stevetuxford
Community Member

Any update on this? This would make navigation substantially easier.

MGoehring
Community Member