[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
claire_obrien
Community Participant

A staff member at our university would like to have a 'search' bar at the top of each Canvas course so that students can quickly search for relevant content stored within the course itself i.e. files, content on pages/assignments etc.

This is especially useful as we minimise our course navigation menu and hide our 'files' section in most Canvas courses. However, if a file itself is still published and they just cant find where it is embedded, they should still be able to search for and find the specific file.

cmanning1
Community Member

Very much agree - lets get this implemented!

TannerRanieri
Community Novice

Be able to Search in all "Courses" for titles of lectures, pdf's. So I wouldn't have to click through 20 courses to find the single lecture called "Microbiology". I could just universally search "Microbiology" and see on the titles of the pdfs that have been uploaded or named that from across all the canvas courses.

patkellyrmit
Community Member