[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
laurensimpson22
Community Novice

There should be a search function on the Canvas homepage, or Dashboard page to search for documents and files within different courses. When looking for a specific document, we are having to click through dozens of courses and search within each course for a specific file, rather than being able to search for the file once, and being able to locate it more quickly.

douglas_rolley
Community Explorer

What’s at the top of this page? A search tool! Please add it to Canvas. 

ZeSteele
Community Member

It is unbelievable that this has been an ask for 2015 and Instructure doesn't care to implement the feature. I guess the schools already paid for Canvas and are tied to it, so they don't really care how well it works for the students?

It isn't like this is rocket science. Almost everywhere you go on the Internet has search.

AngelaTapp
Community Member