[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
RobDitto
Community Champion

@tweiler ​, I really appreciate how you articulated genuine needs of various users which would be addressed by a more comprehensive search feature in Canvas.  I would love to see this happen and believe it would give Instructure a true competitive advantage in the LMS market for education.  Other than Apereo/Sakai 3, which was ahead of its time in this one particular feature area, I feel few mainstream LMS platforms have taken advantage of how course content is naturally faceted.

jordan
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Very similar to the post by Mor Sela in the old community:

Global Search

Make it easier/faster for users to find what they are looking for.

Basic search would simply search all the content available to the specific user.

Advanced search would allow to filter content by type (people, files, assignment, groups, etc) or by course.

Such feature is now a table-stake for content management systems (see yammer.com for example). Users expect it.

r_v_jones
Community Contributor

I agree with  @tweiler  here