[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
5_2
Community Novice

There should really be a dark mode

glg06c
Community Member

Agree. Dark mode would be nice.

AidanCousins
Community Novice

As a student who regularly uses Canvas full time, I find many hours and days I get eye fatigue and headaches from the overt amount of white in the website due to a disability in my retinas where I cannot process light correctly. If you all would be able to implement an alternative dark mode, It would seriously improve the experiences of not only students with disabilities like me, but as well, students who may be working late at night in the dark not get eye strain because of the colour contrast. Thank you for the consideration!

MeRmo
Community Novice

We need dark mode it's too bright even with the screen brightness turned down.

MagnusAiden
Community Member

Hello all (again),

I don't think this post went up so ill do it again, apologies if it did. I am a student who like to work at nights. Unfortunately there is a lot of white space on canvas which can make cause eye strain at any time, not just nights. I would greatly appreciate a Dark Mode so the viewing experience can be more comfortable.

urbansk6
Community Contributor