[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
jcarpenter1
Panda Pros
Panda Pros

Here's a link for a Google extension to put Canvas in Dark Mode.

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/dark-mode-for-canvas/jgiilnejobjjdnjkpoahdglfejggnfgh

karma666
Community Novice

white theme is to bright for me i would like a dark theme

karma666
Community Novice

pls add themes 

stopdirty
Community Member

Was going to suggest this, wanted to fins someone else who did so I can upvote it. Thanks

Ethan_Lowell
Community Member

Allow an option to turn the white and light gray background into various dark greys, in order to make people on Canvas at night not have to look at a bright screen.

CM001
Community Novice

I do most of my labs on Canvas and sometimes I am staring at a white screen for hours. It's hard to count, read, do math when your eyes are super strained. A dark mode feature would be a helpful option for all students and professors.

ItsCallMeZach
Community Novice

I agree

sgray-castro
Community Member

I voted for this! As an Instructor, I would prefer a dark theme due to my eyes' strain with bright lights (white background). 

I believe this would benefit most, and both instructors and students to have these features.

glg06c
Community Member