[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
daryl_adair
Community Member

The "force dark mode" suggestion is indeed feasible on any web browser in which you have the Dark Reader extension. However, there are serious limitations with that approach. I am a professor who runs online teaching with Canvas. If I design what I am doing on Canvas with Dark Reader intact, it looks completely different on the computer, to the tablet, to the phone. The latter two do not have the capacity to include dark mode for Canvas. So the whole experience is uneven and limited in effect only to the computer version of Canvas. Unless there is a system-wide change by Canvas to dark mode - which includes computer, tablet, and phone - the Dark Reader approach is only a stop gap measure.  

glg06c
Community Member

@daryl_adair I agree 100%. I meant it more as a slightly more permanent solution than adding browser extensions. I see your point with the uneven results.