cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

(165)

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

226 Comments
mramir11
Community Participant

I've seen people use external extensions for this, but I still can't believe it hasn't become an option directly on the site yet... 

jbryce
Community Member

Add a dark mode for canvas, would be easier on my eyes

TommyScholz
Community Member

A lot of people work late at night in the dark and all white hurts the eyes.

csalas
Community Member

I also thought Canvas would have a dark mode, so googled how to turn it on. Alas, it's not available. So I'm adding to this conversation because my eyes also need dark mode! (I do google slides in a black/dark background and use white text when presenting a reading/article!) ^_^

sarahcallan
Community Member

Has anyone else wanted to have dark mode as an option in Canvas?

PhillipMale
Community Member

Dark Mode would be fantastic!  I've had it for another school I worked in and it makes screen time SO MUCH BETTER.  They have Chrome and Firefox Dark Mode extensions you can download for Canvas but not in our system.  If it's a money issue, I'll chip in to pay the programmer.  Pretty sure if we crowdsourced this we could raise enough money pretty quickly to get this done.

After a year or so teaching almost exclusively online, I think it's way past time to get this feature added.  

Annguyen8646
Community Member