[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
michael1439273
Community Participant

I also think that there should be a dark mode in Canvas because students with loaner computers from their organization may block certain extensions that allow for dark mode.

KevinCruz1
Community Novice

I noticed that the canvas website and canvas app both have a lot of white screens. The color white is very bright, especially for students steering at devices all day. Can we have an option to turn it into a dark screen mode. Sort of how cell phones can. Or even a nightshift mode for nighttime studing. My eyes will appreciate it! 

EdgarAlejandro
Community Novice

The possibility to put the whole App in dark mode

Chris_Hofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @EdgarAlejandro ...

A similar, existing Feature Idea already exists called Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas - Instructure Community.  I'd invite you to review that one, give it a star rating, and post a comment as to why this would be important to you in Canvas.

There is a similar Feature Idea for mobile devices: Dark Mode for Canvas Student for iOS - Instructure Community.

Hope this helps.

GabeCruz
Community Novice

Please give us a dark mode option.  My eyes hurt.

Luke25
Community Member

Why doesn't canvas have this yet? My eyes are burning

AlexisHovorka