[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
RYANKUCHENMEIST
Community Novice

We need a dark mode for canvas, Students sometimes spend hours doing homework, and the screen can really hurt the eyes. A dark mode would help students sleep better after a long day of homework.  And it would be better on the eyes. I speak for everyone when I say that a dark mode would be appreciated

JKYLE
Community Novice

EricRedding
Community Novice

Hello there! I am here to suggest an idea for Canvas. DARK MODE. WE NEED IT. IT'S ALMOST 2022 AND WE STILL DON'T HAVE IT. First off, staring at a bright screen for an extended amount of time is bad for your eyes. Second, having only a Bright Mode means that it will drain battery faster. Is this really what you want? This is a terrible influence for students at schools, as it could weaken their eyesight. It is also a problem because, as I mentioned, it drains battery faster, which could also cause problems with school. You used Dark Mode as an example for keywords, and yet for some reason, you STILL haven't added it. Please add Dark Mode! WE NEED IT!

DJADRN
Community Novice