[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
robertfelix12
Community Novice

SOPHIADELEON
Community Novice

they should add this i always blind my self while studding or when my teachers lights are off even when my brightness is down 😞

rickh
Community Participant

We had requests lately by our students for the Dark Mode to  be available.  One reason is that it does not distract other people in dorm rooms, classrooms, etc.

ZB13
Community Novice

We need a dark mode on this app. I don't like being flashed every time I open it to to homework/exams. Needs to be black/white letters/borders or even gray would work well but this white isn't it.

DutchGames
Community Novice

because there are students doing computer work at night and a darker background will help them.

AbenezerLakew
Community Novice

Just give the children dark mode it's a universal theme now, just wanna let you know that.

AbenezerLakew
Community Novice

I'm not who you think I am...

UnnamedEngineer
Community Member