[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
imnotill
Community Member

Come on now. Its 2022. Please add dark mode for the sake of canvas. Its easier on the eyes and can use less power.

Amelia1124
Community Novice

Instead of the backgrounds being primarily white, maybe consider having a dark mode. I find having the option of dark mode easier on the eyes and to read in general. It also makes things easier to focus and not as much eye strain. I am a student who (when there is an option for it) uses dark mode constantly. Having the drastic change from dark to light when logging into canvas to do school work really hurts my eyes. They are very sensitive. I know several people who would also benefit from having this option.

LGilmore
Community Member

Dark mode is 1. highly preferred by most people these days (for years now) and 2. Much easier on some people who have eye problems. 

I cannot understand why in 2022 there is still no dark mode on here considering the plethora of people who have suggested it. Disappointing 

LORDLIMABEAN
Community Novice