[Theme Editor] Dark Theme/Dark Mode for Canvas

Hello all! I am a student, and I am here to suggest an idea that I thought would make Canvas more personalized. I think a dark theme would be great for Canvas since some students like to stay up at night (not me), and the bright white light from Canvas can hurt their eyes. The main reason why I want it is because it would look better on my computer. Youtube and Google have these options, why not Canvas? Thank you for reading!

Comments from Instructure

While we are not able to announce that this idea has been completed, it is important to celebrate that Dark Mode has been added to Canvas Student, Canvas Teacher, and Canvas Parent. (2022-07-05)

349 Comments
constructive_iq
Community Member

I think there should be a dark mode added that changes the color scheme from black text on white background to white or tan text on black background. This would be good for people experiencing eye-strain from the long hours they have to spend reading content on Canvas. 

awhittington863
Community Novice

Hello,

I think it would be extremely helpful if a dark mode/dark theme could be added to Canvas! Please consider this for any future updates/software development. Thanks!

iaad
Community Member

This would be awesome in both the app and website, shouldn't be too hard to do from a code standpoint, and is much easier on the eyes when doing homework late at night.

elisabeth_green
Community Participant

My understanding is that this is alredy in the works for the mobile apps!

mahola
Community Explorer

It would be great if there was a user-configurable setting for Canvas and the admin console to have a "night mode" where the colors are more subdued than the stark white.  It seems like currently this can only be accomplished with web plugin hacks.

KiplingAustill
Community Member