Deduct X% or X points per day for each day an assignment submission is late

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea will be open for vote May 5th, 2015 - August 5th, 2015  Learn more about voting...

As an instructor, I want to specify that late submissions to a given assignment have X% or X points deducted from their possible score for each day the submission is late. This setting would be configurable at the course, assignment group, and individual assignment level. I should have the option to manually override late penalties for a given student.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Neal Legler

Special thanks for contributions from: Mike Griffiths, C. David Frankel, Annaleah Morrow, Desiree Shultz

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-13886 .

58 Comments
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

Yes! This is a much desired feature that would be a huge time-saver for our faculty!

awilliams
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Yep, can't wait to cast my vote for this one.

pjudy
Community Novice

Yes.  This would be quite helpful!

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

How cool would this be?!? Right now I have to track this on a scrap of paper. Smiley Sad

ejackson
Community Champion

Our instructors definitely want this!!!

amixon
Community Member

Oh my!  Yes - currently I have to manually do this - or, give them no credit at all.   It would be great to allow students to complete assignments late at a penalty.

ehills
Community Participant

This is a bad educational practice. If your assignments are to show mastery of knowledge, why does one day late change their level of knowledge or mastery compared to two days late? Preparing them for the real world, you say? In the real world, you ask for an extension if you can't accomplish the task you were given in the allotted time.

amixon
Community Member

Eric