Deduct X% or X points per day for each day an assignment submission is late

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea will be open for vote May 5th, 2015 - August 5th, 2015  Learn more about voting...

As an instructor, I want to specify that late submissions to a given assignment have X% or X points deducted from their possible score for each day the submission is late. This setting would be configurable at the course, assignment group, and individual assignment level. I should have the option to manually override late penalties for a given student.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Neal Legler

Special thanks for contributions from: Mike Griffiths, C. David Frankel, Annaleah Morrow, Desiree Shultz

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-13886 .

58 Comments
amixon
Community Member

Hi John

Sapling Learning does this with their online homework system and it doesn't seem to cause confusion for the students.  You can set it to only deduct %.  So I have my Sapling set to deduct 5% per day for one week.  And the cool thing there is that it only deducts for problems they haven't completed.  So if a student does 15/20 problems and earns all credit.  And then does the remaining 5 1 day late, they are only penalized on the 5 late problems.  If Canvas could use that as a model that would be great - I don't think they can as their current set up since we can't see progress as a student goes through the quiz, only when they submit - however perhaps that too could be changed.

I would like to see the grade highlighted in red - as it is now, when something late is submitted - that way if a student emails us and says "why is my grade so low" we can easily see it's red and say, well, because you completed it late.