Disable automatic inline previews of YouTube Videos

In the old Rich Content Editor it was possible to insert a simple hyperlink to a YouTube video. Now the inline preview is force inserted. Even if you go into the html editor when you save the inline preview is forced in. This option need to be reinstated. If I am listing multiple videos on a page I don't want previews and pop out viewers to appear. 

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through the Canvas Deploy Notes (2020-08-26)

26 Comments
allen-sondej
Community Member

I have to admit I am not particularly impressed with Canvas. 

mwolfenstein
Community Participant

I spend a fair amount of time in HTML and this was a quick fix for me, but I'm basically a hybrid faculty/instructional designer/program manager. Although I want my online faculty to become more comfortable with HTML, it can't be required.

I think more importantly, the inline preview on YouTube videos is accessible but ugly and that's not a compromise that needs to exist. Unlike some of the features that get requested on here we're talking about something that should have a very low overhead in development cost. It already recognizes YouTube links and does the work of forcing them into inline preview. Enabling and disabling inline preview already exists for documents. Just close the loop on this by adding that checkbox when you click options to enable/disable inline preview.

kdickso
Community Participant

@mwolfenstein ‌,

Ouch. When you put it that way it really does seem kind of odd and deliberate that they eliminated the checkbox. I'd love to know the reasoning behind it.

I think that I would be better with parsing the HTML (and I am interested in Instructional Design, but my role is purely as a faculty member in this instance), if I had a workable plugin for Canvas that would help me scan code more easily when I'm parsing it.