[Discussions] Download discussion board posts

We would like to be able to download all of the discussion board posts from our course this semester for faculty analysis. We would also like students to be able to download and/or view all of their posts to review at the end of the semester in one place. This would create a type of e-portfolio for each student based on their work during the semester.

Added to Theme

85 Comments
mzocchi
Community Member

It would be beneficial if I could download the Discussion Thread submissions (like I can do with assignments).  At the moment, the only way I can do this is to either cut and paste each submission into a word document or print the discussion thread chain to a pdf.

I'm an instructor. 

lares
Community Member

Hi everyone, for those who followed mak0023 suggestion. My browsers shows me a screen full of characters that I assume is the content of the discussion I want. I recognized some of the text. 

What do I do from there. How do I download it so I can process it? 

I tried saving it as a json file using my browser. 

Then I read the file using fromJSON() in R using this script

```library(rjson)

library(jsonlite)

fromJSON(file = "../discussions/view.json", flatten = TRUE)```

But all I  get is this error message using this code: 

Error in fromJSON(file = "../discussions/view.json", flatten = TRUE) : argument "txt" is missing, with no default

Any idea what I am missing?

Much appreciated 

russ_ziegler
Community Member

This would be a great idea! We would definitely use this feature when we host conferences and use discussions for vendors and presenters. 

mzarwell
Community Member

It's too bad this hasn't taken off since it was posted 4 years ago. So many faculty members could use this feature (downloading discussion post content) for research, evaluation, academic integrity, and accreditation purposes. I really would love to not have to copy/paste these into a word doc for analysis...

markovib
Community Member