Extend Course for Individual Student

(13)
As an administrator, I would like the ability to extend a course past the course conclude date for an individual student, so that the student can make up the work for an Incomplete Grade. For example, at our institution, an Incomplete Grade may be issued to a student under extenuating circumstances (i.e. severe injury, death in the family, etc.). A student who receives an Incomplete Grade is expected to make up the course work within a few weeks of the actual course end date. As it is now, extending the course end date extends it for every member of the course, which can cause confusion for students who have successfully completed all of the objectives for the course. Enabling an administrator to selectively extend a course for a specific student would assist faculty in managing coursework for students who undergo difficult times during the regular period of instruction.

🔎 This idea has been archived. While this idea isn't open for comments, it is an important part of Instructure’s idea conversations and development process. Contributions like this are valuable as Instructure prioritizes work on new or existing features.

39 Comments
Nancy_Webb_CCSF
Community Champion

We'd be interested in a better course conclude workflow too.  It's almost been a year and no group is formed.  What are the chances of this idea moving forward?

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team
  Idea is currently in Product Radar Learn more about this stage...
jason_hill
Community Contributor

Data-yes.gif

Nancy_Webb_CCSF
Community Champion