[To Do] Have Observer Calendar/To Do Match Student's

Parents in a K-12 environment (Observers) want their calendars and time management tools to match their students' calendar and other time management tools, such as the To Do and Coming Up blocks.

In order to better track what students have completed and still have to do, we propose these changes to the Observer's time management tools:

• Items on the Observer calendar "cross off" when the student they are observing submits the lesson
  • The checkmark beside a lesson turn green in the To Do/Coming Up blocks upon student submission

Added to Theme

Improve Observer Experience Theme Status: Identified

48 Comments
steves2020
Community Member

Hello, 

Has this request for a new feature been reviewed yet?   This is my first time using Canvas and this was one of the first things I noticed.

As a canvas observer, I would like my observer calendar to match my child's calendar so that when an assignment has been completed and is crossed of on my child's calendar it is also crossed of on mine.

stacey5
Community Explorer

Yes please!

leborst
Community Novice

I am also requesting that parents to be able to have the calendar view display which assignments their student have completed. It is currently a lengthy process for parent observers to enter each class to locate missing assignments and verify that their student has turned in work. Adding a feature to the observer calendar to quickly indicate which assignments have been complete is an important request.

alioxman
Community Member

As a parent of a child on an IEP who needs my help organizing his assignments, this is a critical component. Showing a strikethrough on completed assignments in calendar view would expedite the process of work prep and help him meet deadlines. Bottom line - efficiency and clarity in one place.

lyzamaron
Community Novice