Hide grade columns for teacher gradebook

(7)
As a teacher, I would like to be able to hide gradebook columns in my gradebook after I have completed grading or if the assignment has not yet been assigned.  This would shorten the length of the gradebook that I need to currently scroll across to get to the most recent assignments to grade and limit the potential for accidentally clicking on a cell and changing the grade while navigating.  I know that I can resize the columns individually, but I want to be able to hide or collapse the columns and get them back, if necessary.  There is currently a suggestion for hiding grade columns from students open for voting, which is a different type of request.  My same suggestion was recently made by Letty but archived as being the same as the request to hide grade columns from students, which is not the same thing.  Richard has also suggested hiding the grade columns as part of a multiple issue request.
46 Comments
biray
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

This idea has moved to the next stage and will be open for voting among the Canvas Community, from Wed. November 4, 2015 - Wed. February 3, 2016.

Check out this doc for additional details about how the voting process works!

aanthony
Community Participant

I work with teachers at the elementary and middle school levels, and they would love to be able to hide columns in their grade books.  They use the same course throughout the school year, and as the trimesters go by, they have to scroll by more and more assignments that they do not need to immediately access.  The abundance of assignments becomes a hindrance in reviewing student performance in their classes.

f323580
Community Novice

I'm in the same position as an EdTech coach. We are in the second year of true adoption of Canvas after a pilot year and some of our emerging "power users" would like some kind of gradebook navigation simplification.

tknapp
Community Contributor