Hide grade columns for teacher gradebook

(7)
As a teacher, I would like to be able to hide gradebook columns in my gradebook after I have completed grading or if the assignment has not yet been assigned.  This would shorten the length of the gradebook that I need to currently scroll across to get to the most recent assignments to grade and limit the potential for accidentally clicking on a cell and changing the grade while navigating.  I know that I can resize the columns individually, but I want to be able to hide or collapse the columns and get them back, if necessary.  There is currently a suggestion for hiding grade columns from students open for voting, which is a different type of request.  My same suggestion was recently made by Letty but archived as being the same as the request to hide grade columns from students, which is not the same thing.  Richard has also suggested hiding the grade columns as part of a multiple issue request.
46 Comments
rpsimon
Community Contributor

When using Microsoft Excel, we have the ability to hide data that is there but the data is kept and we don't delete.  We have many assignments in the Canvas Instructor Gradebook that don't need to be seen on a daily basis; for example, daily Attendance and Class Participation.  Is there any way that a feature could be added with the option to temporarily hide columns in the instructor's gradebook?

JamesSinger
Community Member

Like using other "spreadsheets" applications, it's possible to "hide" columns in order to focus on specific information. It would be great to be able to select an assignment column and hide it as well as a place to toggle it back. I could highlight certain assignments that take up room and hide them away. Or even an option to "hide past assignments" after they've passed their due date. I guess even a "hide upcoming assignments" too. You never know when that could come in handy.

PennyC
Community Member