Hide grade columns for teacher gradebook

(7)
As a teacher, I would like to be able to hide gradebook columns in my gradebook after I have completed grading or if the assignment has not yet been assigned.  This would shorten the length of the gradebook that I need to currently scroll across to get to the most recent assignments to grade and limit the potential for accidentally clicking on a cell and changing the grade while navigating.  I know that I can resize the columns individually, but I want to be able to hide or collapse the columns and get them back, if necessary.  There is currently a suggestion for hiding grade columns from students open for voting, which is a different type of request.  My same suggestion was recently made by Letty but archived as being the same as the request to hide grade columns from students, which is not the same thing.  Richard has also suggested hiding the grade columns as part of a multiple issue request.
46 Comments
cliff_cunningha
Community Contributor

Excellent idea. We MUST have a way to reduce all that scrolling-to-the-right.

I see that Grant Harbor asked back in July about a status update. I don't see a response.

Can someone chime in, and let us know where this issue stands?

Thx.

careysmith
Community Participant

I definitely agree. For my MATLAB programming class, students need to submit a separate code file for each problem that I can test and grade individually. I can't lump them together. Each day I have in-class lab assignments and take home assignments.

Therefore, I have about 150 assignments, so scrolling across 10+screens is hopeless.

GideonWilliams
Community Champion

This popped into my timeline. Huge number of votes for it. Probably the number one issue in our school where we have courses that up to six teachers teach on and not all using sections. Creates a ridiculously long Gradebook and frustrates staff to see all the additional stuff even when you hide other sections.