Make Pronouns Fill-in-the-Blank in Canvas

0 Likes
(10)

I am an Instructor.

Our University recently moved to a drop-down menu for Canvas community members to select their preferred pronouns. Unfortunately, this places a burden on administrators to define the "possible" or "proper" pronouns that community may select.

Is it possible to simply allow community members to type in their pronouns, so community members can have whatever they prefer? 

Tags (3)
16 Comments
KristinL
Community Team
Community Team
Status changed to: Open

TiffanyStull
Community Participant

I agree that it would be nice to offer the option (if enabled at the account or sub-account level) for users to enter their own pronouns.  In our current LMS, we have several predefined common sets of pronouns (He/Him/His, "She/Her/Hers, They/Them/Theirs, Xe/Xem/Xyr(s), etc.) and an "Enter my own" option to select from a drop-down.  When "Enter my own" is selected, a "My Pronouns" text box appears that allows you to type in your own pronouns (up to 16 characters).

It also makes sense to me that some schools (particularly elementary or high schools) would want to restrict the pronouns options to specific selections out of concern for students potentially entering inappropriate content.  That's why I think it should be an account-level option for administrators to enable.

jslowiak
Community Member

I agree that an option to "enter my own" or customize one's pronouns would be helpful, and I agree with @TiffanyStull that it would be helpful to add as an account-level option for administrators to enable in order to prevent inappropriate content.

RachelWilliams3
Community Novice