Expanded Message students who...

(7)
The message students option is great in the speedgrader. However, it would be nice to add this feature to all of the gradebook items including assignment totals, discussion totals, other groups and final grade total, especially the final grade total. It would be nice to mass-email students (BCC) who are below a certain threshold like 70% or failing courses.
We have three very similar ideas, all of which are open for voting, associated with the Message Students Who... feature, and we're grouping them here to keep the Ideas forum tidy. These are the other two:
https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/1240-message-students-who-for-grade-totals
32 Comments
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

@cohenf , I'm confused. I use this feature quite a bit and the Subject line that shows up when you go to "message students who" does auto-populate with the assignment name and it does show up to students. I'm an admin (who also teaches) and I just verified that the subject line that auto-populates does show up for students in their Inbox. 

Example: This is the view from one of my student's Inbox. You can see the subject line in the Inbox contains the subject line from the "Message Students Who" tool (so either the default, which is the name of the assignment or what you change it to be).

218562_MessageStudentsWho.jpg

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

How strange! Hope you get this figured out!

cohenf
Community Participant