Migrate Question Banks to Item banks Automatically

(108)

I would like to see the ability to migrate question banks (Quizzes) to item banks (Quizzes.Next) automatically when a quiz is migrated from Quizzes to Quizzes.Next.  

41 Comments
lynnb
Community Explorer

This is going to be a big issue for us in trying to eventually move faculty over to Quizzes.Next. There must be a way to migrate cleanly between the quiz platforms!

dgrilley
Community Member

Jennifer,

I'm relatively new to Canvas.  You are probably well aware of what is happening in quizzes.next, but as I start to dig into quizzes.next, there are a number of issues that will be a big change from how I have used question banks in the past (on other LMS systems).  Top among them: item banks are tied to instructors not to courses (https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/14541-allow-item-banks-to-be-tied-to-a-course-rather-than-an-i...‌ and https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/12034-allow-admins-to-grant-multiple-users-permissions-for-ite...‌), item banks do not allow you to select a subset of questions to be included in a "random set" (https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/14539-selecting-a-subset-of-questions-for-a-random-set-from-an...‌ and https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/14302-quizzesnext-selecting-question-types-from-item-banks?sr=...), and do not allow subfolders (https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/5800-quizzesnext-subfolders-for-item-banks).  Not transferring question banks will make the transition hard, but so will not having some of these other functionalities that many of us are used to (both in Canvas and in other LMSs).  Hopefully you and your faculty are keeping track of these issues and supporting the ones you will use.

Dan

admin_brake
Community Participant