[Discussions] Multiple Due Dates (checkpoints) for Discussions

Idea is currently in development

With the way that many schools set up forum discussions and require "check-ins" to the forum throughout the week, it would be great if we could include multiple due dates in the discussion activities. For instance, I have classes that require everyone respond to the prompt by Thursday night and respond to at least 2 peers by the following Sunday. Being able to remind students that they have responses due, especially if we could scatter responses over multiple days, would likely increase participation.
445 Comments
MarieT
Community Novice

Hi. I am an instructor and I would like to create a discussion post where the original post is graded, then the subsequent comment is graded on a different day, then a second comment is graded on a third day, all tied to the original post. In this way, students will not forget to do the comments because the comment due date will appear in the "syllabus" and assignments list.

Phoenix2100
Community Member

When students post anything on canvas, it should be graded as soon as possible if not then it should be acknowledged that they had turned it in before the due date. They're required to make a post and email it to the appropriate teacher. If  anything should happen to the point where an email assignment "magically" disappears, then they should be able to send another copy and not be faulted for the technical errors in the system. That being said, make sure the students have copies of all assignments and don't trash or delete it. Therefore, there won't be any issue nor irritation when told to redo it. 😊

jillianporter
Community Member

Hi! I want this feature too! How do I "upvote"?

Steven_S
Community Champion

@MarieT  Until this idea is added to canvas, there are two ways to have your discussion due dates show up in the syllabus and calendar.