Nested question groups

0 Likes
(1)

I'm an instructor, and would like the ability to use nested question groups. This way I can have a question group to select a set number of questions -- 10, for example -- but have more than that number of question groups within that group. This would help ensure that when selecting random questions, students will be tested on a number of different topics or concepts, rather than seeing questions that may be repetitive. This would be especially helpful in scenarios when there may be more topics or concepts being tested than quiz questions.

3 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Archived

@mdocher 

Thanks. We're archiving this idea as it is framed around the functionality of Classic Quizzes. Please refer to the comment we posted to If/then logic for quiz questions for details.

mdocher
Community Member

But I would still like to see this feature. It seems like in New Quizzes, you can select a random number of questions from an item bank. This can still run into issues with repetitiveness on tests, and scenarios where there are a lot of concepts being tested. For example, if I want to ensure that students are being tested on a certain number of concepts/topics, I might need to make an item bank for each concept or topic. If there are 30 concepts, but a quiz only has 20 questions, this could help to ensure that each of the 20 questions is random, but testing a unique concept. Maybe the nesting structure could be implemented in New Quizzes, so that it randomly selects from item banks, and then randomly selects questions from within those banks.