[New Quizzes] Allow File Upload Question Submissions to be Previewed in Speedgrader

In most contexts, when a file such as a Word document or PDF is linked in Canvas, a preview button is added alongside the filename, which allows the user to preview the file in-line without downloading the file:

353505_Screen Shot 2020-07-22 at 11.55.53 AM.png

However, this is not the case for file-upload question submissions, which must be downloaded by the grader in order to be viewed in both quizzes:

353506_Screen Shot 2020-07-22 at 11.56.13 AM.png

and New Quizzes.

353513_Screen Shot 2020-07-22 at 11.56.23 AM.png

In order to streamline the process of grading file upload question submissions, Canvas should add the ability to preview file upload attachments in-line in the speedgrader for New/Classic Quizzes.

Added to Theme

33 Comments
stiegeler_j
Community Novice

As a math teacher, I have students upload pictures of their work. If I have a 5 question quiz, and 100 students, that 500 photos I have to download and look at. That's a lot.  If there was a preview function in speedgrader, then I wouldn't have to download anything and I could quickly grade their work.

gnoack
Community Champion

You should be able to view images in the speed grader. If it's isn't working you might have a conflict with your web browser, or it might be an add-on or extension.  This is a known issue. 

Try viewing the assignment in incognito mode, or with a web browser you don't have any extensions or add-ons installed. 

I did just test this and I was able to preview both a jpg and png file in the speedgrader. 

ederlina_nocon
Community Explorer