New Quizzes: Create Item Banks from Excel

(8)

I want to create a question bank from an Excel or csv file instead of one by one

13 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Thanks for sharing this idea,  @thienhb  Welcome to the Canvas Community. You might also be interested in supporting https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/2086-create-item-banks-from-msword .

davisz
Community Member

I second this! Being forced to create questions one by one when they could be quickly generated in excel and pulled into canvas is the worst.

shustwit
Community Member

Yes!!  Please!!

Hand entering the same 4 answer choices for a bunch of questions is a nightmare.  

csv or Word, either one...or both!

KGugino
Community Member

As an instructor I would like to be able to import questions with csv (preferable) or even txt files so that I can import questions banks from outside of Canvas without paying for a third party program like Respondus to create qti files for import. Creating question banks in this way would be much faster than the current input method for quiz creation. This would also allow instructors to use quiz/test questions that they had developed prior to using the Canvas LMS.

Brad_Schmid
Community Member

It should be possible to create a bank of questions and upload this file to canvas. This is possible in other LMS such as blackboard where you can upload a .csv file (properly formatted) and the questions will be imported. Canvas offers no way of doing something similar. This should be something that is easily done. I know there is a suggestion to purchase other software that will generate a QTI to import - why not have a way to allow us to make a file that can be directly imported?

wayne_smith
Community Explorer

For R, see: http://www.r-exams.org/

For Python, see:https://pypi.org/project/text2qti/