New Quizzes: Dashboard To Do

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As with the original quizzes on canvas, when a student submits a New Quizzes (Quizzes.Next) assessment and there are items that need to be reviewed it should show up on our teacher dashboard in our To Do list so we know to submissions have been made so we can more easily access them in speedgrader to grade.

253 Comments
mwolfenstein
Community Participant

I actually didn't realize this feature wasn't there until I was talking with one of my faculty members today who is using New Quizzes. I'm guessing this is an issue due to New Quizzes build as an LTI, but it's frankly insane that this doesn't exist given that due to the general design of Canvas faculty rely deeply on the To Do list in their grading workflow. This definitely needs to be added to/prioritized for New Quizzes.

germank
Community Explorer

Agreed! This should be fixed!

mbovey
Community Member

I am a teacher for a high school in Washington State.

In Classic Quizzes, any assignment needing questions manually graded show up on the To Do List. In the Grades section of Canvas, this is also indicated by the paper/pencil symbol. 

When New Quizzes is used, assignments needing questions manually graded do not show up on the To Do List. When looking at Grades, a score is also inserted for automatically graded questions. As a result, there is no visual cue indicating a quiz is ready to be scored.

Can you make New Quizzes show up on the To Do List similar to how Classic Quizzes show up on the To Do List?

MistyM
Community Member

Pleasepleasepleasepleasepleaseplease fix this.  I'm going bonkers having to go into each quiz everytime a student lets me know they've completed it.

eacheson
Community Member

Yes. This is a big problem and I would love it fixed. Getting notification about new quizzes is important. They are hard to dig around and find to grade too. It would be great if they showed up in dashboard. 

zabeljonathon