New Quizzes: Formula Questions - Ability to input Variables

(2)

Hi all: I'm new to Canvas - our institution just moved from Blackboard (BB). There were two minor tweaks in BB for formula questions that I haven't seen in Canvas that I think would be easy features to add. 

Let's say I create the formula question as in this document

How do I create a Formula question in New Quizzes?  

Among the variable-solution combinations shown in this example is one with a variable of 1 (and a solution of 300,000). I would like to be able to do the two following things

1. Delete that choice. (This is useful as often Canvas seems to generate duplicate variable-solution combinations. Also, I might want to give a variable range of -4 to +4, but then delete 0 if that showed up.)

2. Replace the variable "1" in the example in the document above with "5." At that point, in addition to "re-generate," there needs to be a "re-compute" button. That will leave the variables as they are (the rest as originally selected by Canvas, and my "5" which replaced Canvas's "1,") and the solutions will be re-computed, so the solutions will stay as Canvas had originally computed, except that the 300,000 next to the original "1" will be replaced by 1,500,000 next to the "5" I entered to replace "1."

(This second feature can be generalized so that I can replace some or all of the variables selected by Canvas. In BB, after BB generated random variables and computed the solutions and displayed the variable-solution combinations just as Canvas does, the variables as displayed were in input boxes, so one could simply replace whichever variables one wanted to, and then simple re-compute the solutions - not regenerate the variables.)

Happy to send a screen-shot from BB if that's of help.

Cheers, and happy developing - stay healthy.

2 Comments
JoeBattistelli
Community Explorer