New RCE - pin the sidebar

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through the Canvas Deploy Notes (2020-11-18).

While I'm loving getting familiar with the new rich content editor my biggest annoyance is that the insert sidebar disappears every time I add a link or image. As a course designer this is greatly slowing down the way I build content in the RCE. It would be great if once the sidebar appears after you have chosen to insert a link or image that you could pin it open so if you are wanting to add multiple images or links then you can, instead of having to repeat the process every time. I'm finding this to be slowing down the content creation experience not enhancing it.

43 Comments
Community Member

Definitely agree with the issue here and comments above.  As an instructor I find that linking to existing course content is definitely worse with the new RCE.  When a site has lots of pages, there is a lot of scrolling, clicking "load more" (repeat, repeat, repeat).  And then you start that process all over.  Ability to pin the sidebar would help alleviate that problem.

tchilt
Community Participant

We are getting several comments from our faculty about this. The new RCE has drastically increased the number of clicks necessary to embed course files. Instead of having to pin the sidebar, perhaps it stays open until it's closed. There could be an "x" where the pin is in the mockup above. Every time you highlight text to create a link to a file, you have to click the Course Documents icon and go through that process again. It's repetitive and frustrating.

tina_busch
Community Contributor

Hi Todd, we have set the new RCE feature to Allow instead of On due to this reason. Let's hope it gets looked at before being forced on for everyone in June.

jwadec
Community Contributor