Option to require units (eg, meters) in numerical quiz answers

(14)

In problems in physics and engineering, answers require units to be meaningful. In designing a quiz question, there should be an option to require that a unit be provided ("3 kg" instead of "3".)  If no unit is provided, or if the unit is incorrect, only partial credit should be given. As a physics professor, I have found that student performance on exams increased dramatically in the area of correctly working with units after I started requiring their homework problems to include units (we were using Moodle, which implements this feature). 

26 Comments
p_wills
Community Novice

This would be an even better idea were the British/French spelling "metre" acknowledged!

alexking
Community Novice

Ideally you should be able to simply type the desired unit into a text box (the same way you do for entering formulas in a formula question). This way you could define multiple acceptable units, eg: meter, metre, m

alexking
Community Novice

I had an idea up that was closed as it was a duplicate of this thread. Just moving my comment over here

Have a user-defined list of units of measurement as part of the answer. It's important that a student understands the correct terminology, and not just how to plug numbers into a formula. eg in a physics question I should be able to specify the answer as "1.44 MeV", and if a student submits "1.44" or "1.44 KeV" it should be marked incorrect.

kdougherty1
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Hi  @doneil ‌,

This is something that could be done in a Fill In The Blank question, which is similar to the Numeric question type. I think it is possible this may provide you with some more immediate options.

-

Kevin Dougherty

Assoc. Product Manager, Assessments

Instructure

eklausner
Community Member

Hi Kevin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the comment of Deva O'Neil.