Organize the Term Selection Drop-down List

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea open for vote Wed. November 2, 2016 - Wed. February 1, 2017  Learn more about voting...

As a Canvas Admin I need a more efficient method to select the term associated with specific courses when searching for courses in the Course Filtering section of an account page. Currently, the 'Show courses from the term:' drop-down list displays all of the terms in a haphazard way making it difficult to quickly select the needed term.

However, on the Grading page for an account (...accounts/000/grading_standards), the 'Attach terms' selection field (this field is visible when you have Grading Periods enabled and you're creating/editing a Grading Period) displays the terms beautifully by organizing the terms according to their current state (Active, Future, and Past - in that order) See my attached screenshot. I know this isn't really a drop-down list on this particular page, but similar functionality needs to be implemented when searching for a course on an account page. UVU is among the earliest of adopters of Canvas (best decision ever), and our Term list is getting as long as the list of reasons we had to switch from Blackboard back in the day .

Every time somebody up-votes this idea, a Panda smiles and is able to live a more satisfying life.

Comment from Instructure

For more information, please read through the Canvas Production Release Notes (2016-12-10)

25 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@swinter ‌, in line with the description in the idea, this filter was implemented in Courses (not in Terms, which is where it sounds like you are looking). The link to the production release notes, which includes an explanation and screenshots, is part of this discussion and contained in the Comment from Instructure dated 12/7/2016 upthread. Here it is again. And here's the documentation: https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-10850-421473677