[Announcements] Post announcements in multiple courses at once

I would like to see a feature in Canvas that allows you to create an announcement then choose multiple courses  in which you would like to see the announcement posted.  The current process is time consuming and tedious; you create the announcement then open each course and copy and paste it into each separately.

Note from the Community Team: We are aligning this with a very similar idea, https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/2703-common-announcement-to-all-my-classes

Added to Theme

Simplify bulk course tasks Theme Status: Identified

72 Comments
cward
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

We're currently looking into how to accomplish this, but can't promise if and when we'll be able to do this. Thanks for participating in the community, and for always helping us make Canvas better!

gregory_slayton
Community Novice

I'm not a programmer or Canvas affectionado but have heard that those with administrator privileges have the ability to do this.

It seems that this option could/should be portable to faculty.

Thank you for listening,

Greg

Get Outlook for iOS<https://aka.ms/o0ukef>

scottdennis
Instructure
Instructure

Hi Greg,

One slight correction; Admins can post system-wide announcements that our seen by every user as they login.  They cannot pick and choose which courses will see an system announcement and which will not - its an all or nothing brute force approach appropriate for announcements that affect every user but not handy for disseminating course or program specific info unfortunately.

rfields
Community Member