Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
kbeimfohr
Community Participant

I completely agree with adding this functionality.  We have many students in our district that have the accommodation written in their IEP that all assessments be given on paper.  This makes it very difficult for the instructor if they use the drop-down feature.  Print Screen does not work in this case.

ajohnson
Community Contributor

May I ask that this request include both quizzes AND test banks? It doesn't make much sense to print a quiz when the questions come from larger test banks as you won't get all the questions.

BTW, my work around is to create an exam that uses the entire test bank, preview it, copy the whole page, paste it into Word.

Community Novice

I was under the impression that this was already possible?  My teacher in BA101 prints the quiz each week for the students to take in class, maybe it is through the business book and not through canvas.

ejackson
Community Champion