Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
blong
Community Participant

This is becoming an importance as more classes turn to Canvas for daily activities like quizzes/exams.  I would also add that the PDF created needs to be accessible to screen readers

sarah_donahoe
Community Member

I have students who have accommodations that all tests should be paper/pencil, but I have a mandate to use Canvas to assess. Why haven't you fixed this yet?! Unreal.    

thompsli
Community Champion

I agree that this is a problem, but have you tried getting the accommodations people (disability office or whoever) in touch with the "must use Canvas to assess" people and getting them to duke it out between themselves and let you know what they figure out?