Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
maria_cullinane
Community Novice

I would like to provide another reason for the absolute necessity of being able to download a printable pdf version of a quiz. We need to show the external examiners the exam the students did, including the item bank questions without providing full access to the module on Canvas to external examiners. So we need to be able to send them a softcopy of the quiz that is presentable.

jhallal
Community Member

Are we able to now export quiz results where the students have uploaded an image? 

lewallat
Community Novice

It is a must to be able to print a Canvas produced quiz via a PDF or Word. Please correct this immediately. I am a new user as an instructor to canvas and find this as a serious defect.

smurphy12
Community Explorer

Hi,