Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
setopp
Community Novice

Would like for teachers to have a feature that allows them to export documents that are created in canvas:  such as:  test/quizzes.  This feature will be valuable in the event the teacher should need a hard copy.

robson_pitt
Community Member

I agree. Please make it easy for a teacher to print, download and digitally archive quizzes (both before and after students take them).  This is useful for test development and record keeping.

Thank you very much.

wschilling
Community Member

This issue is now going on 6 years old and is an absolutely essential capability to have to use Canvas effectivly for record keeping and assessment purposes.

jarskijc
Community Member

Some students need to have their tests/quizzes taken paper pencil. It would be great if the teachers could create a pdf of their entire quiz and then print it so that this could happen. 

dukej1
Community Member