Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
ejackson
Community Champion

I agree, I can't see the average instructor being able to easily figure out the QTI method. I work with Respondus and quizes/question banks daily, and have for years, and *still* had a heck of a time figuring it out at first!  Also, instructors don't have a lot of extra time to figure the process out; I mean, they have these little things called "teaching" and "grading" and such to do. 🙂  This is why our office tries to help them out as much as possible. Some instructors who do their own quizzes/question banks have not noticed that images did not come through, and it's not discovered until students start contacting the Student Help Desk that images are missing that we are made aware of the problem, and at that point it's too late because students have already taken the test.

When I was having my long, drawn-out, sometimes 'heated' conversations with Canvas Support and Respondus Support, here is something Respondus sent me: