Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
skelly2
Community Member

Yes, please! Some students have accommodations that require pencil and paper, or sometimes students don't have good wifi access (very rural) and need paper sent home (especially in quarantine). This feature would be very helpful!

SSMartin
Community Member

This would be a huge step forward in terms of making accommodations for all of my students, but especially my students with 504, IEP, or even ELL needs.

-I can quickly and easily provide a paper copy for students who are not tested on computers or who do not have reliable internet access.
-I can provide a quiz to a student who may be testing outside of the normal window to accommodate absences or separate setting issues that sometimes require the student to test on a different day.