Printable / PDF-exportable quizzes

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
The Quiz Build page provides quiz printing options. For more information, please read through the  Canvas Release Notes (2021-08-21).

As an instructor, I want to be able to export a Canvas quiz as a PDF. This would enable me to easily print quizzes for the purpose of accommodation, for allowing a given student to take a quiz outside the timeframe established for the quiz for all other students, etc.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Pacific Union College admins

Special thanks for contributions from: Betsy Walker, John Louviere

Community Team Note: This idea remains open for voting. A virtually identical idea was moved forward for consideration in March: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7285-exporting-quizzes-into-word-or-pdf-documents  Contrary to our customary practice, we are allowing both ideas to continue to move forward. Votes and feedback from both ideas will be evaluated.

341 Comments
rolfis
Community Explorer

For those who are into Python, or knows someone that can execute such programs, I've written a small utility that transforms Canvas QTI exports into Word (and from there to PDF) or JSON. It's not complete, but it's a start for those that wants to have something in another format. 

Unfortunately it only supports version 1 quiz as there is no export for New Quiz in Canvas.

The utility simply called qti-convert can be found here:
https://github.com/rolfis/qti-convert

All the best,
Rolf Johansson
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

carla_gerona
Community Novice

As a professor, I would like the capacity to download quizzes into microsoft word.  Some faculty might want students to have this capacity too -- although I expect that most would want to be able to choose whether or not to make that capacity available.

Thank you

briddell
Community Participant