Provide More Detail on Alt Text for Fill in the Blank Questions on New Quizzes

0 Likes
(4)

I'm an Instructional Designer and Canvas Admin and have been troubleshooting some issues our JAWS users are experiencing with Canvas New Quizzes. One issue we are having is that Fill in the Blank questions are very confusing for our students to navigate, particularly when the question has multiple blanks.

The current Alt Tag for a blank in New Quizzes reads "question blank." When JAWS reads these questions it reads the question text up to the first blank. The student can then navigate past this blank to read the next portion of the question up until the next blank. If there is text after the second blank the student will have to navigate forward again to hear the full question. For Instance:

1) Roses are

2) Question Blank

3) Violets are

4) Question Blank

Without the full sentence read the student may not recognize that they are responding to a poem and fill in question blank as "flowers." There is no option to hear the full sentence without an instructor providing instructions and the full prompt in the Question Stem.

For this reason I'm suggesting the Alt Text for Fill in the Blank questions is updated to include surrounding text, or at the very least an annotation that distinguishes between blank 1 and 2.

Again a fill in the blank question for New Quizzes would read as follows:

"Roses are Question Blank, Violets are Question Blank."

The blanks above should include "Question 1 Blank 1 of 2" and "Question 1 Blank 2 of 2" so when a student navigates back through the question they can easily locate where they are in the sentence. It would be best if the Alt Text included some of the stem of the question in the form of:

"Roses are Blank" or "are Blank, Violets" so students could get more of the context when responding.

7 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Moderating

dsasaki
Instructure
Instructure

Hey @jbowman10 !