Provide user feedback when entering or leaving another module

0 Likes
(1)

Problem: When navigating a module, the end user doesn't know when they are entering/leaving another module.

----------

The navigation (next/previous buttons) for the module item view (viewing content within a module) should provide the user feedback when they are about to enter or leave a module.

Canvas provides 'previous' and 'next' buttons for the module items, but provides no visual feedback for users to communicate that they are entering or leaving a module.

Suggested Solution: Adding some subtle visual indicators and text to clearly indicate that the user is about to 'enter/leave' another module [see mockup below]

module_navigation_update.png

Image Caption: The 'Next Module' would appear on the 'next button' text when you are about to move to the next module, and likewise on the 'previous button' text when you are moving to a 'previous module'.

I am a Designer and Developer within a learning support team.

..... @kmurfin , @James , @jared_reynolds , @kona ...what do you think of this idea?

6 Comments
ctitmus
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

James
Community Champion

@TimJensenUSC 

I personally don't see much merit to the idea, probably because leaving one of my modules has no significance and I don't care if students go into another module (or I would put prerequisites on the module). For my students, notifying them that they're leaving a module and entering another one doesn't seem to be a problem. Getting them into the modules (as opposed to just going to the assignment through the To Do list) is a bigger issue for my students.

Another potential concern is managing the language of the user; Next Module may work for English, but it's not what you should say if the user has Spanish set to their language.