Quizzes.Next: Equation Answer Option on Quizzes

(5)

I want my students to be able to enter an equation as an answer on quizzes.  Numerical answers are useful at times, but I need my math students to be able to enter fractions, exponents, radicals, etc. as an answer.  If I have the option of inserting a math equation into my question, my students should be able to do so when they answer.

21 Comments
marakina_allen
Community Novice

I would love to know how to do this as well.

blangston
Community Participant

I have been asking and waiting for this feature for 3 years. Not sure why it hasn't happened yet. I have been using a website called ducksoup.us which allows students to answers questions using math editor for fill in the blank and I can type the answers using math editor. I have given my students the option of using Canvas or Ducksoup and they prefer ducksoup because it is so much more user friendly. 

RobDitto
Community Champion

In the current Quizzes tool it's possible for students to include equations in the answer to an essay question. For which other question types are people voting/commenting here seeking equations as answers?

blangston
Community Participant

yes but teachers still have to go back and grade the work even if the answer is numerical. If someone was able to create an esheet webbased program that allows math editor for an answer box and it is free, why can't Canvas offer if districts are paying for it?

humpherysmail
Community Novice

I would also like the option of including equation formatting in multiple choice answer options, fill-in-the-blank, short answer, etc.  Right now the only way student can use the equation editor is for essay answers, and they have to be manually graded.  This is extremely disappointing for math teachers!

kevinbu
Community Novice

As Heather stated the only existing methods require manual grading.  In addition, essay question format is big and clunky when the expect answer is one single equation.

lglen